The prickly iron and bone mesh is no wall.

Bird he is not, pricked for sure.

 

"Are you ready?"

"Who asks?"

 

"Well it must have been something that took you to these lengths of experience.

Would you share?"

Shadow sidles closer to him and smiles with neon lights.

It is a mad highway of swirling colors, ever changing, rushing and hurting his eyes.

 

"Nah... You wouldn't..."

"Understand? I don't have to. The deed has been done so you might as well..."

 

"Well there was a fire." Shadow blinks like a starry sky for a moment.

"Can I lie down for a moment?" He asks.

 

Shadow caresses him for a moment. It feels like walking on ice.

"I lit it myself. Many died." He whispers.

 

"You mean many are dying?"

"What does it matter? I found god. I wish I'd found a door if I'm honest."

 

"So that's why you are so badly burned?"

He laughs heartily at this through blistered lips. "Well the burning never stopped. This is just the gasp before silence? I felt like it, isn’t that enough?"

 

Flying, he is flying.

Meeting with the pavement is imminent.

Eyes open satisfied to no turning back.

“Well it’s easy when you have no choice.”

 

The shadow has a final curse.

“You were wrong. They are waiting for you, and you will not be able to close your eyes because you burned yours in life. Sweet screams.”

 

Theatre-in-the-Dark-Header.jpg

_____________________________________________________________________

Those who have lived a good life do not fear death, but meet it calmly, and even long for it in the face of great suffering. But those who do not have a peaceful conscience, dread death as though life means nothing but physical torment. The challenge is to live our life so that we will be prepared for death when it comes.

- Unknown